New user registration is currently disabled due to spam abuse / Регистрация новых пользователей в настоящее время приостановлена из-за злоупотреблений спаммерами

tibetan script appears blank

Report bugs here

tibetan script appears blank

Postby rafatocandocielo » Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:52 pm

When I type tibetan script in the goldendict for windows (I have tried several versions, including the last one GoldenDict-1.5.0-RC-124-gb050b74), in win vista, it appears blank, but when I click any of the blank lines in the words list, then the definition appears and the tibetan script appears aswell in the tittles bar, but no were else. As you can imagine that issue prevents the dictionary from being efficient. Please let me know if you find a solution for the bug. Thanks a million.
rafatocandocielo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:28 am

Re: tibetan script appears blank

Postby Tvangeste » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:27 pm

Could you please post some text here, so that we could try it out and experiment as well?
Tvangeste
 
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:42 am

Re: tibetan script appears blank

Postby w_mountain » Fri Aug 30, 2013 4:42 pm

Like Tibetan fonts, some other fonts don't seem to be displayed in GoldenDict.
In my opinion, it's because of a encoding-decoding problem.

Other Fonts except Roman ones can NOT be displayed properly without UTF-8 encoding.

So I think that GoldenDict needs to support UTF-8 endcoding and
be compiled taking account of UTF-8 support options.
For example, a word-input box ,
a word-explanation panel ,
and including arguments passing between program units, etc.

I test it with
1)a sample Pali(original term is Pāḷi) language dsl file(of course saved in Unicode format) and,
2)a web site. (http://www.palidictionary.appspot.com)

I typed jaṭā.
(it would be an another story... unfortunately in my Smart phone(Android OS),
the displaying part does not show some pali charaters, "blank", like PC version. but the input box show the right letters.)

gd_img1.jpg
a sample screen shot
gd_img1.jpg (72.28 KiB) Viewed 14046 times
Last edited by w_mountain on Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
w_mountain
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: tibetan script appears blank

Postby Tvangeste » Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:04 pm

And it seems that you're using Windows XP, right?

Because I see no problems on Windows 7, the word jaṭā is properly displayed in all the mentioned places.
Tvangeste
 
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:42 am

Re: tibetan script appears blank

Postby rafatocandocielo » Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:17 pm

I'm using Windows Vista.
rafatocandocielo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:28 am

Re: tibetan script appears blank

Postby rafatocandocielo » Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:23 pm

It is funny, because in my smartphone it works great, with the same data base, you can find the files in www.Digitaltibetan.org
rafatocandocielo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:28 am

Re: tibetan script appears blank

Postby w_mountain » Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:34 pm

Yes, my OS is Winodws XP.
I tested the latest beta version of GoldenDict.

I have another Windows7 computer in which the latest "Released" version is installed.
It has the same problem.

Well, I'll test it with the latest beta version in my Windows 7 computer.
But I'm going to bed, it's 2:30AM here...........
w_mountain
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: tibetan script appears blank

Postby Tvangeste » Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:28 pm

w_mountain wrote:Like Tibetan fonts, some other fonts don't seem to be displayed in GoldenDict.
In my opinion, it's because of a encoding-decoding problem.

I honestly don't think so. GoldenDict can handle this with no problem.

Based on your screenshot, notice that all the problematic places are in the user interface with the font, supplied by the OS by default. So it seems to me that the problem is user configuration and weak fonts that don't have the appropriate glyphs. You'd need to adjust the windows settings to supply better fonts for the UI.

Also, to prove this theory try to add the following to your qt-style.css file (which should be placed into GoldenDict's configuration folder, use Menu -> Help -> Configuration Folder to find it). This should change the font for the word list drop-down component, and for the tabs.

Code: Select all
WordList, QLineEdit, QTabBar
{
  font-family: "Arial Unicode MS";
  color: red; /* to make sure it works, you should see red list */
}


Please note that I used the Arial Unicode MS font, it is present in my system and can handle complicated characters just fine. You need to find something like that suitable for your needs and adjust the setting accordingly.
Last edited by Tvangeste on Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tvangeste
 
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:42 am

Re: tibetan script appears blank

Postby Tvangeste » Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:37 pm

Btw, I just checked on my Windows XP system, and there are no problems there as well. All the places are properly shown (well, with exception of the window title).

So this just re-enforces my conviction that the problem is the windows' system font for the UI elements. Most probably you have a weak font.
Tvangeste
 
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:42 am

Re: tibetan script appears blank

Postby w_mountain » Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:35 am

Thank you for your help.

1. In Windows 7, it has the same problem.
2. I put qt-style.css in the folder you had mentioned.
Pali support fonts:Tahoma(for XP), Arial Unicode MS, Times Ext Roman, Times New Roman in MS Windows.
Tibetian fonts : necessary to install tibetian fonts https://collab.itc.virginia.edu/wiki/tibetan-script/Tibetan%20Fonts.html

<qt-style.css >
Code: Select all
* {    /*   (*) means for all  , instead of WordList, QLineEdit, QTabBar */
  font-family: "Tahoma", "Times Ext Roman", sans-serif;
  color: red;  /* to make sure it works, you should see red list */
}


3. The result is good! :D
And I think it would be better the window title bar always just be "GoldenDict".
I changed the system font related to the window title bar to 'Tahoma'.
--Right-click an empty area of the desktop.
--Select "Properties"
--Click the "Appearance" tab
--Click "Advanced"
--Click the frame inside the box named "Active Window"
--Notice the "Fonts" area now shows the name of the font in use.
Anyway, unforunately the web content displayed in my GoldenDict still has the same problem. :?
screen_shot_withCss.jpg
after applying with qt-style.css
screen_shot_withCss.jpg (76.64 KiB) Viewed 14015 times

4. Thank you for your help again. ;)
Last edited by w_mountain on Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:46 pm, edited 3 times in total.
w_mountain
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 1:59 pm

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests