New user registration is currently disabled due to spam abuse / Регистрация новых пользователей в настоящее время приостановлена из-за злоупотреблений спаммерами

simplest dictionary format?

All about dictionaries

simplest dictionary format?

Postby mishu » Sat Sep 26, 2009 10:48 pm

i have several dictionaries, and i am a programmer, so i can convert them to almost anything.

what is the simplest format that GoldenDict is using?
I'd like to write a conversion script that GD will read and will index.

i've read the other topic ("custom dictionaries") but there was no specific detailed format description, there was just an example which i didn't understand.

thanks
mishu

Re: simplest dictionary format?

Postby ikm » Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:25 am

The simplest for non-programmer is Dsl, since it's a text-only, bbtags-like file format. However, the simplest for a programmer might probably still be StarDict -- I find myself easier to make those dictionaries, since no escaping etc is involved. It's mostly binary though, so it's hard for a non-programmer.

StarDict file format is documented here.
Dsl file format is documented as part of the ABBYY Lingvo program's documentation. You could probably google yourself a copy of "Lingvo0.chm" -- there's an appendix there with a subchapter called "DSL Compiler", it should have all the details.

Another option is to take stardict-tools and use any input format (e.g. csv, |-separated etc), then convert to stardict.
ikm
Автор GoldenDict

Postby C2BlEv » Mon Sep 28, 2009 1:50 pm

Just my two cents. There has grown a significant community around dsl-format dictionaries due to its simplicity and ease of comprehension for non-programmers. So, any dsl-aware tool that you create could also be a boon for that community.
C2BlEv
Модератор

Postby dg333 » Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:41 am