New user registration is currently disabled due to spam abuse / Регистрация новых пользователей в настоящее время приостановлена из-за злоупотреблений спаммерами

Install a new version in Ubuntu 10.04

General discussion

Install a new version in Ubuntu 10.04

Postby Racachaquero » Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:11 pm

Hello everybody,

I'm using Ubuntu 10.04 (Lucid Lynx), and I want to have a version of the program that supports Forvo pronunciation at least. The latest version available for my system in a binary .deb package is 9.0.1. It is annoying, but it seems my only chance is to build my own installation.

My question is: What is the better way to have an up to date version?

1 - Install the latest developing version through git (I think this might not be the best, since this version might be unstable, right?, please tell me, because I'm a noob).
2 - Install the tarball from http://sourceforge.net/projects/goldend ... ndict/1.0/, which is a little older (version 1.0.1 from 2010)
3 - Get one of the sources used to compile 1.0.2 version for newer Ubuntu versions from https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/goldendict

I tried option 1 and 3 so far.

Option 1 works, but I don't know if this is an unstable test version, or if it is the latest stable version.

Option 3 is not working. I downloaded the package used to create the latest stable version for the latest Ubuntu version. File is goldendict_1.0.2~git20110706.orig.tar.gz, and I downloaded it from https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+archive/p ... rig.tar.gz and I tried to install it like I did with Option 1, with qmake and then make.

It didn't work, first it threw me this message:

Code: Select all
$ qmake
fatal: Not a git repository (or any of the parent directories): .git
Project MESSAGE: Failed to precisely describe the version via Git -- using the default version string

I read on the Internet that this would fix it

$ git init
Initialized empty Git repository in /docs/Downloads/goldendict-1.0.2~git20110706/.git/