New user registration is currently disabled due to spam abuse / Регистрация новых пользователей в настоящее время приостановлена из-за злоупотреблений спаммерами

notice: Text To Speech available

General discussion

notice: Text To Speech available

Postby orecchionebruno » Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:59 pm

Hi,

I just notice that last GoldenDict version solves the Text To Speech compatbility.

With last GD, it's possible to add a CommandLine dictionnaries.
Click the menu Edit | Dictionaries | Sources (tab) | Programs

and add a command line as this example:
espeak.exe -v en %GDWORD%

That example uses the espeak TTS that you can download from this address:
http://espeak.sourceforge.net/

espeak TTS support many languages

PS: as you can see, the command line path "espeak.exe -v en %GDWORD%", doesn't include the full path... this is possible if after espeak installation, you copy the espeak.exe in GoldenDict path.

A notice to the developpers: I suggest to add the possibility for customizing the dictionaries icons: traditional dictionaries or audio dictionaries, web dictionaries or whetever
orecchionebruno
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:46 pm

Re: notice: Text To Speech available

Postby dredd » Mon Sep 05, 2011 4:25 am

ok!
We have the solution to all our problems!! :)

Install on your computer some commercially available TTS voice (english or whatever you need)
Then download sapi2wav http://blog.hacker.dk/wp-content/upload ... pi2wav.exe
copy it in the goldendict path
open the command line go to goldendict path: sapi2wav -list and see which voice number you need for the required tts
then create this bat file e.g. English.bat
Code: Select all
ECHO OFF
sapi2wav word.wav 12 -t  %1
mplay32 /play /close word.wav
exit


where 12 represents the voice you chose before

put the bat in the goldendict folder and name it as the language it represents
now go to goldendict edit--dictionary-sources-programs and add a new audio item, enable it, in the command line put English.bat %GDWORD%
Save go to your dictionaries and add the program to the group!

Done!
Works for me in windows XP
Now i have all the tts i want :)
Thank you!
dredd
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: notice: Text To Speech available

Postby a.prosperi » Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:09 pm

I have tried what you suggest, but ... nothing!
I have installed espeak and i have inserted the string "espeak.exe -v en %GDWORD%", trying also with the full path, but without result: when clicking on the speech icon or pressing Alt-S nothing happens.
Of course, the command espeak.exe works ok if executed from the command line, with or without parameters.
What is wrong?
a.prosperi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:55 pm

Re: notice: Text To Speech available

Postby orecchionebruno » Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:41 pm

mmm.. try to write the command line with the quotation marks:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\eSpeak\command_line\espeak.exe" -v en %GDWORD%

..but I don't understand why in your pc if you put "espeak.exe" in same Golden Dict folder it doesn't work..
orecchionebruno
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:46 pm

Re: notice: Text To Speech available

Postby a.prosperi » Sat Sep 10, 2011 8:04 am

I've tried with quotation mark like in your example... the same.
But I've read in another post I cite here:

"Re: word pronunciation not work in xp

Postby Tvangeste » Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:05 pm
This button is for those dictionaries that come with pronunciations.

In you case, do you have such a dictionary or you're just expecting that some kind of text-to-speech enabled pronunciation?"


If the button (or ALT-S sequence) is just for dictionaries that come with pronounciations, how is it possible to obtain the execution of an external application like espeak? (I use Windows XP Pro SP2)
a.prosperi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:55 pm

Re: notice: Text To Speech available

Postby ikm » Sat Sep 10, 2011 8:09 am

Can you make a screenshot of your Sources|Programs screen?

Btw,
a.prosperi wrote:If the button (or ALT-S sequence) is just for dictionaries that come with pronounciations

Technically your configured TTS program is a dictionary that comes with pronunciations, so the button should be active and working.
ikm
Автор GoldenDict
 
Posts: 1595
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:40 am

Re: notice: Text To Speech available

Postby orecchionebruno » Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:26 am

if your GoldenDict version is come from http://goldendict.org/ you have not the possibility to run command line dictionaries

download last version that Tvangeste has shared answering in an other post:
https://github.com/goldendict/goldendic ... or-Windows

finally you have to see a situatation like this:

command_line01.png
command_line01.png (55.5 KiB) Viewed 14981 times


command_line02.png
command_line02.png (19.08 KiB) Viewed 14981 times


PS: if you copy espeak.exe in GoldenDict directory you can just write this:
espeak.exe -v en %GDWORD%

This is particular useful if you use the "portable GoldenDict" version and including GD in a USB key you can move it without worry if espeak paths are different in the seecond pc (where espeak is already resident)
orecchionebruno
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:46 pm

Re: notice: Text To Speech available

Postby a.prosperi » Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:32 am

That's all right! THANK YOU!!

I have downloded the version (portable) that you suggested. My previous version (1.0.1) didn't show the "Programs" tab!.
Now I have inserted one espeak.exe string for English and one more for Spanish and all is going well.

Thank you again.
a.prosperi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:55 pm

Re: notice: Text To Speech available

Postby mmmmmm » Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:03 pm

Thank you .
mmmmmm
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:47 pm

Re: notice: Text To Speech available

Postby vlav » Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:54 am

Hello
Can I use espeak TTS in linux version 1.0.1 got from fedora core 15 repository?
There is no "programs" tab where input the command line
vlav
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:49 am

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests