New user registration is currently disabled due to spam abuse / Регистрация новых пользователей в настоящее время приостановлена из-за злоупотреблений спаммерами

Request Enocodings for Web Searches: Big-5 and GB18030

General discussion

Request Enocodings for Web Searches: Big-5 and GB18030

Postby michaelopt » Sun Jul 24, 2011 10:28 am

Hi Developers,

First I have to express my gratitude to all of you for your creation of the GoldenDict. It is much more convenient than Lingvo when yours have the customizability to search some web dictionaries and change the display styles freely. It is definitely a language saver for students.

I am a student who lives in Hong Kong. Despite reading English dictionaries in most of the time, I also look up some Chinese characters via online dictionaries. In some sites like Wikipedia and Wiktionary which use UTF-8 encoding, the pages display the Chinese characters nicely. However for some sites which use Big-5, all the Chinese characters become incomprehensible symbols.

Would you mind adding Big-5, one of the Traditional Chinese character encodings into the upcoming releases? Something like "%GDBIG5% would be helpful. This would be a blessing for the Taiwanese and Hong Kong people who are interested in looking some unfamiliar Traditional Chinese characters up in the web dictionaries hosted by universities.

I do not know if it is too greedy to also ask for the support of the GB18030, the Simplified Chinese character encoding. This could potentially benefit 1.3 billion people in China. If it is too demanding, just ignore the request for GB18030.

I look forward to your feedback.

Michael
michaelopt

Re: Request Enocodings for Web Searches: Big-5 and GB18030

Postby Tvangeste » Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 am

Hi Michael,

Could you please post some URLs for the online dictionaries you'd like to use with %GDBIG5%?
Tvangeste

Postby michaelopt » Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:51 pm

Tvangeste wrote:Hi Michael,